Category Archives: Competitions

Week 1 of championships and it will be HOT

This week is week 1 of our annual club championships. Athletes compete in their ages for points, should good luck to all. It’s also going to be very hot so bring plenty of water and any help with setup and pack down is greatly appreciated by all…  Continue reading Week 1 of championships and it will be HOT

When we practice

Our club operates on a strong basis of parental involvement. There are so many small and easy jobs for parents to help out with.

We really enjoy the fact that all of our children get to see the benefits of their parents helping out other children and getting benefit too.

Every Saturday (weather permitting) we are out at Chapman oval from 9:00am to around 12:00pm. Our schedule is usually finalised around the end of August, or early September  every year. As soon as it is ready, it can be found on our team calendar page. We also train on some weekday evenings. These are also scheduled in the calendar so that you can synchronise them up to your smart phone calendar App.

During the Saturday sessions, the size of your age group may vary from year to year as some age groups are extremely popular and may be split into to groups.


The Spiderback Gift

The Spiderback Gift is a handicap race with each age group representative starting time based on recorded to date season best times or fastest time on selected competition days for 100m (U6-7), 200m (U8) and 800m (U9-17). There are two races:

  • U6-8 200m;
  • U9-17 800m

At least two 100m, 200m or 800m times must be recorded by the Age Group representative and the winning time must be within 20% of that time.

The Spiderback Gift will start from either the 200m or 800m start and all representatives run either 200m or 800m through a modified track.

Redback Gift

The Redback Gift is a 100m handicap race run by a finalist from each age group with the finalist and handicap based either on the recorded to date season best times or the fastest heat time on the day of the Gift in 70m or 100m races. There are separate boys and girls finals.
Each competitor in the Redback Gift final will start from a mark on the track determined by handicap.  As a result, the slower age group runners run a shorter distance, and the fastest age group runner is the back marker.